Skip to content

Things I have Done and Not Done:

September 24, 2012

I have taken out the recycling–and the trash–and additional items to Goodwill.

I have not written every day, not withstanding the pithy FB status updates.

I cuddled with my son and taken him on adventures.

Feeling a bit disconnected from the world.  We’ve been in Baltimore a year, and I can name the people I know here on one hand.  I feel sometimes entrenched in the life I built for myself in Colorado and Upstate NY.  Although I enjoy this town,  it takes more effort to let down my guard and trust people anymore.  Why is that?

As a result, I am starting to blog again.  Perhaps it will break me out of my isolation and live more in the present.  When I do write something, it will be more substantial and therapeutic, and allow myself a place for vulnerability.  Over time, I hope I can regain some of my old self, the girl who traveled to Europe and Asia by herself, the girl who expressed herself with reckless abandon, the girl who spent time to paint her toes.

I plan on going swimming tomorrow.  Either that, or take Munchkin to the Science Center.  Who knows.  As nice as these adventures are, it’s been a long time since I’ve lived for myself.  I need to regain that–and soon–to make it a priority as another life gestates within me.  I must find my own rebirth.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda Williams permalink
    September 24, 2012 11:48 pm

    I took a pottery class and spent 2 hours a week just for me. My dad had died. My mother had died. I wasn’t working or going to school for the first time in my life. The pottery was for me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

